Mount Rogers Regional Partnership (MRRP) represents a region of five counties and one city.  Branding the region as ‘Virginia’s I81-I77 Crossroads,’ an area stretching from Carroll County to Smyth County along Interstates 81 and 77, the organization membership consists of Smyth, Wythe, Grayson, Carroll and Bland counties, and the City of Galax.

MRRP was formed as a non-profit multi-jurisdictional regional economic development organization (REDO) to conduct outreach marketing, prospect development, project management and work with its six localities to support and enhance their economic development efforts. It is one of eighteen REDOs in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

MRRP is financed by its member localities based on population, as well as voluntary private sector funding. The organization is served by a board of directors with representatives from local governments, private sector, and community colleges.

*Note: Cities in Virginia are independent cities, which have their own governing bodies and are administratively independent of any county. Of 42 independent cities in the United States, 39 are in Virginia.


MRRP supports the creation of job opportunities, a broadened tax base and an improved standard of living for the residents of Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth and Wythe counties and the city of Galax by attracting and encouraging national and international businesses to locate and invest in the region, as well as by assisting existing companies to create or retain jobs.

Strategic Roadmap (PDF)

Annual Report

Board & Officers

* Member, Executive Committee

Executive Director

Nichole Hair

Executive Director

Mount Rogers Regional Partnership

1000 E Main Street Grayson Hall Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4726


*Shawn Utt

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Smyth County

121 Bagley Circle Suite 100 Marion, VA 24354

276-783-3298 x 8301 (office)


*Steve Boyer

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Grayson County

P.O. Box 217 Independence, VA 24348

(276) 773-2471


*Stephen Bear

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Wythe County

340 South Sixth Street Wytheville, VA 24382-2598

(276) 223-4500

Mike Watson

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Carroll County

605-1 Pine Street Hillsville, VA 24343

(276) 728-3331

Cameron Burton

County Administrator

Local Government Director

Bland County

Gavin Blevins

Interim City Manager

Local Government Director

City of Galax

David E. Dillow

Local IDA Director

Bland County

P.O. Box 246 Bland, VA 24315

(276) 228-6021

David Kause

Local IDA Director

JIDA of Wythe County

Blue Ridge Gatorade 316 Gator Lane Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 625-3943

Roger Neal

Local EDA Director

City of Galax

Larry Edwards

Local IDA Director

Carroll County

Carroll County Government Center Hillsville, VA 24343

Chris Butler

Local IDA Director

Grayson County

1170 Pilgrim Fork Road Elk Creek, VA 24326


Whitney B. Czelusniak

Director of Economic Development

Appalachian Power

40 Franklin Rd Roanoke, VA 24011

Elizabeth Hash

Business Lender

Skyline National Bank

Grayson Patterson

Vice President 


Mike Lawless

Executive Vice President/Principal in Charge of Regional Growth of Southwest Virginia

TRC Companies

Green Faircloth

Sales Representative 

Atmos Energy

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Dean E.Sprinkle

President – WCC

Educational Representative Director

Wytheville Community College

1000 East Main Street Wytheville, VA 24382

(276) 223-4848(B)

Ex Officio Director

Dr. Adam C. Hutchison

VHCC President

Educational Representative Director

VA Highlands Community College

P.O. Box 828 Abingdon, VA 24212

(276) 739-2421

Ex Officio Director

Aaron Sizemore

Executive Director

PDC Representative

Mount Rogers Planning District Commission


Public Sector




Private Sector